what is the soul

a definition:
soul =  the spiritual or immaterial part of a human being
that is regarded by many as immortal

then:
The dictionary says a soul could also be

A person’s emotional nature
A person’s moral nature
A person’s sense of identity
The essence of something

I vote for the last definition because to me my soul is my human animal. It’s my essence. It’s the fountain which supports my floating-bubble-like existence at its top. Without it I would be no more. I would wink out of existence because that dead human animal was my creator and total support.

Of course, if a religion teaches all of its God’s magical powers are real and if this turns out to be true, then a magical God would have to begin supporting my existence so it could torture me forever or reward me forever. What are the odds of that happening?

spiritual = having to do with religion or religious beliefs (dictionary definition)

spiritual = having to do with feelings like gratitude, graciousness, and love and there are other attitudes that can yield spiritual feelings like giving or receiving justice and giving or receiving freedom. I vote for this definition.

immaterial = something beyond physical

Am I a special dream of my wonderful craft? A dream which allows my human animal (what I feel is my soul) to sail along easily in whatever society into which it is born?

2 thoughts on “what is the soul

    • Thank you Michele for your comments. I read your statement and think you mean the one who makes the decisions is your soul and you feel your Spirit is your conscience leading you to make better decisions. This is what I thought for the first half of my life too. And as you can see my view has changed a lot. Thank you, Michele, for reading my posts.

Leave a Reply

