needs to be courted

Is there a present
Inside of me
I haven’t opened

As humans are we so
Unimaginably small and
Yet so complete

Is it that I take up no actual space
The brain’s memory is a history of my existence
And the history is getting shorter
As I get older

I sense I’m a well honed
Identity program
Created by my human animal

I’m guessing my body and its subconscious is my unopened present. The sages say the present can be opened but first the animal needs to be courted by somehow turning off the stream of thoughts I create out of habit and resting the mind with silence.

The traditional methods of courting are by noticing the feeling of the body’s breathing with periods of silence as the goal and by creating and noticing the comforting vibrations of a mantra repeated silently in the mind. Both or a combination of both will eventually bring periods of silence.

The being loves attention, and if I give it, I get back so much: a lot less knee-jerk and more calm and more friendly with an attitude of appreciation for the benefits and dangers of being human.

 

Leave a Reply

