brainwashed

I remember my mother telling this story to her friends.

“When Marvin was very young, I didn’t cut his hair, and it got long, curly, and blond, and when we would ride the bus, many times we had to stand in the aisle.

“That put Marvin close to a sitting passenger, and occasionally, a person would smile at him and say ‘Little girl, where did you get such beautiful blue eyes?’ And Marvin would answer slowly ’God gave ‘um to me.’”

I didn’t know it at that time that I didn’t have a chance to choose what I thought was truth: I was already brainwashed. It seemed adults were right about everything.

Children believe what adults tell them as being true, specially when their care givers are faithful to what they believe is true.

I loved my dear mother and how she cared for me. I was lucky to be her child.

In the early 1990s, a good friend, who lived in Australia, out of the blue, recommended I read The Blind Watchmaker: Why the Evidence of Evolution Reveals a Universe without Design by Richard Dawkins.

I read it and relaxed because it gave me more than enough reasons to ignore the magical idea of original sin and gave me the reasons why there was no need for a creator-God.

Understanding why a God was not needed to create the earth and its inhabitants sets us free from magical characters full of magical ideas and happenings.

All that was needed was a Big Bang and a lot of time.

Richard Dawkins, thank you.

Also, The Blind Watchmaker makes it easy to conclude this life is the only life we’re going to have. It’s up to all of the plants and creatures to figure out ways to enjoy it.

Was there a God responsible for the Big Bang? Anyone has a fifty percent chance of being right when answering this yes or no question.

I feel the odds of a supreme God being real as depicted in the Bible wishful thinking. Yet, I can’t know for sure, so I’ll go with the odds real magic doesn’t exist and put my faith in nature and science.

Leave a Reply

