a way to health

We all have heard the story of a doctor telling a patient, “Exercise is the best prescription I could write for you.” This is correct and all of the research says it is.

And it’s because exercise does so many positive things for the human body and mind. I’ll not list these things because the important things to know are what to eat and how to best exercise.

Walking is the best exercise. Work up to walking two miles four-to-five times a week (the fresher the air the better). After walking a while, jog or run fifty yards then start walking again. It’s a nice break from walking and it’s strengthening your lungs and you are increasing your lungs’ capacity. And the running and the walking do the same for your heart. In about six months or so, you’ll be a “well oiled machine” in a sense: blood and lymph going to all the right places.

Work up to four fifty-yard runs during the two miles.

Here is a technique I got from Dr. Al Sears’ book PACE which changed my life for the better, plus there’s a lot more in the book than fitness…

Here’s the technique: beginning at the last twenty yards or so during the running or jogging phase of your walk, surge ahead by running at 80% to 90% of full speed and then for the last seven to ten yards, go 100% if you can.

The reason for the surge and then going all out: it tells your lungs to increase their capacity and makes your lungs, heart, and body stronger when the surges are done each time during your running or jogging phase.

I’ve found it’s better for my recovered back to run going uphill. I’m fortunate to live in a hilly area; it has become my gym.

A really neat thing happens when I exercises regularly. There comes a point where little or no discipline is needed to get out and exercise because my body prompts me, and I exercise because it’s going to be a treat.

And while I’m exercising, I know in a deep way it’s the best thing I can be doing for myself. I’m talking about satisfaction and relaxation. The prompts started happening to me after a year or so of exercising by walking and surging.

As one gets older, one should also develop some type of body building program to remain strong because physical strength is the main ingredient of independent living. I lift and maneuver a kettle bell during TV commercials and also hike up and down a flight of stairs four to five times during commercials. It feels great to sit down after doing the stairs. Being in shape allows one to begin or keep participating in sports, hiking, etc. while aging.

The next thing is diet. In his book Dr. Sears explains how to use the Glycemic Index (listed in his book) to sort out the best and worst foods to eat and why. I went from 224 pounds to 185 in about a year and wasn’t hungry unless I skipped a meal, and I have kept it off without effort for the past five years.

You don’t have to eat only perfect foods. I cheat often but the health-giving food I do eat and my moderate exercising allow me to not even think about what I eat, except sugar.

One should know refined sugar is not only empty calories but robs our bodies of the micro-nutrients which are taken away to clean up the mess the sugar causes.

Essentially there are only two things. I should eat very little sugar or food which turns into sugar as soon as I chew it (the Glycemic Index is the key to knowing what these foods are), and I shouldn’t eat processed foods if I can help it.

  • The information above comes from my experience and is not given as health advice. For professional advice to build a healthy and strong body with a strong heart and strong lungs, ask a professional trainer or look up Dr. Al Sears on Amazon and get his PACE book.

(Dr. Sears has not asked me to mention or promote his book. I mention the book because it’s full of high-quality information all should know.)

Leave a Reply

